Today’s OnePlus event: what to expect and how to watch

While other tech companies have had to stop showing their new devices in front of live, cheering audiences, that doesn’t mean they’re not going to introduce their products with as much fanbase as possible. Today, OnePlus will introduce its new line of phones (probably, the OnePlus 8 and OnePlus 8 Pro). But what can you expect? The rumor mill has been working overtime.

To start with, what we know for sure is wireless charging. According to a conversation that Dieter Bohn had with OnePlus CEO Pete Lau, the company’s new 6.78-inch “ultra flagship” OnePlus 8 Pro will support wireless charging, the first time that feature will be available for any OnePlus phone. The wireless charging will be fast, too, with the ability to charge a phone by 50% in just 30 minutes.

Then there’s the camera. Word has it that the 8 Pro will include quad cameras made up of two 48-megapixel cameras (one wide-angle camera with an f/1.78 aperture and an ultrawide camera with an f/2.2 aperture), an 8-megapixel telephoto lens with an f/2.4 aperture, and a fourth 5-megapixel sensor. It will also sport IP86 water and dust resistance rating, a 4,510mAh battery, and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 5G processor.

The smaller OnePlus 8 is said to have a 6.55-inch FHD+ display, a 90Hz refresh rate screen, a triple-camera setup, LPDDR4X RAM, a 4,300mAh battery, and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 5G processor. However, it will lack the wireless charging.

Word has it that the 8 Pro will come in a variety of colors, including ultramarine blue, onyx black, and glacial blue. If you’d rather have the purple-ish red “interstellar glow” color, that will be reserved for the smaller OnePlus 8.

There is, of course, only one way to find out exactly what OnePlus will be offering with its new Series 8 phones. Tune in today to find out.

WHEN AND WHERE TO WATCH

Start time: New York: 11AM / San Francisco: 8AM / London: 4PM / Berlin: 5PM / Moscow: 6PM / New Delhi: 8:30PM / Beijing: 11PM / Tokyo: 12AM (April 15th) / Melbourne: 1AM (April 15th)

Live stream: OnePlus is streaming its event live on its site at https://www.oneplus.com/launch.

OnePlus-8
Share

Thomas Burn is a blogger, digital marketing expert and working with Techlofy. Being a social media enthusiast, he believes in the power of writing.

Share via
Copy link